Encountering angry readers

On Friday, while working on an article for the paper I’m at, I asked this one man for a quote. If I gave his name or even referenced his job title, readers of the paper would know whom I’m talking about, so I’d rather not. The story had to do with something that was purchased in the past few months, and I wanted to get his quote on it.

“I’d rather not,” he said.

“May I ask why?” I asked.

“I don’t like your newspaper’s coverage. I won’t talk to it ever again.”

It really disappointed me, and here’s why. I had heard many things about this man and was interested in getting to meet him and decide for myself what I thought of him. Now, it appears that won’t happen.

Oh well.

Leave a Reply

