Covered a school board meeting last night

As a journalist, my strengths will always be in two areas: writing features and sports. Covering government meetings is always a fun challenge. It tends to get frustrating at times as it seems a 15-minute meeting gets inflated to three hours. A writer must ascertain the relevant comments from the irrelevant ones.

When I first started off in this profession in 2000 and began my first trek into civilian journalism in 2001, here’s how I covered government meetings: take a tape recorder, turn it on and try to take notes on what was said.

Now, I don’t turn my digital recorder on during meetings unless it’s an emergency. I take as copious notes as possible and then save the machine for post-meeting interviews.

Leave a Reply

