Receiving feedback as a reporter

On Friday, while running an errand and stopping to get lunch from a Kroger* store in Lake Orion, Mich., I happened to run into a township official in the area I cover. They were telling me how much they liked an article and column I’d recently written. Always nice to get feedback like that. Still, I’m bracing myself since on Tuesday night or so I may be running into a man whom I wrote about and described him as a less-than-friendly person. We’ll see what happens.

One thing I have learned is to try not to get too attached to potential story ideas. There was one potential feature assignment I’d been chasing for sometime, only for it to fall through due to a miscommunication. Life goes on.

Leave a Reply

