Reading, reading, reading

I really should try to discipline myself to check out two books at a time from the library. Right now, I have these checked out: The Reagan Diaries, ’Salem’s Lot and Cell, both by Stephen King and Buy Jupiter and Other Stories and I, Robot, both by Isaac Asimov. Of all these, Cell is an audio book. So far, I’ve done reading on all these except for Mr. Asimov’s books. It’s more an issue of time rather than preference, since I actually love the science fiction genre.

I heard once of one amazing reader who could read seven books in a week. Zowie! I wish I had that ability. I remember from college English Literature that John Milton reached a point where he’d read everything there was to read in English. He then moved onto Latin and Greek.

This will never happen today, of course. Loads of new books are published every year. Each day, newspapers are published. Each week and month, magazines. And with the internet, there are now countless online sources. Sure you can read faster, but for me, the faster I try to read, the less I retain.

When I read, I try to keep in mind these things: what works, what doesn’t work, what’s been done and what hasn’t been done.

Leave a Reply

