Back in the saddle of journalism

This past week, I made the rounds to different places that are my beats for the newspaper. Got to meet a few people and chat with them. I also met a few police officers. One thing I’ve learned in civilian journalism and one thing I’ve been told by veterans in the business: it can take a long time to cultivate law enforcement sources and only one badly-written, factually-challenged article to tear it all down.

I look forward to going to township meetings. They can be a great place to meet people, find out what’s going on and develop sources, but I also like to try to kill two proverbial birds with one stone. There’s little sense going if there’s nothing on the agenda that’s out of the ordinary.

Leave a Reply

