Taking photos

For my work as a writer, I’ve taken lots of pictures. When I get a camera (especially if it’s digital), I usually prefer to play with settings and experiment. Yes, I know there are instruction manuals, but I find them tedious. Sometimes it’s because they’re targeted towards the master photographer who knows all the lingo and who can read between the lines of the instructions, and other times I simply don’t have the patience or energy to invest an hour of my life to reading and trying to remember. I’m a kinesthetic learner: I learn by doing.

So, it’s fun to go out, play with settings and take lots of pictures. Some pictures are throwaways while others tend to be pretty good. Occasionally, there are those that are really good.

I’d love someday to spend a few days following Annie Leibovitz around and seeing how she works her visual magic.

Leave a Reply

