Writing screenplays

“Weird Al” Yankovic, who co-wrote the movie UHF, joked once about having one or two screenplays collecting dust in his desk, saying that nobody would believe he lived in Southern California if he didn’t have at least one unproduced script in his office.

Along that vein, I have thought that nobody would believe I work on fiction if I didn’t have at least one screenplay or teleplay, unpublished, waiting to see the light of day.

So, at the suggestion of someone, I am setting about to take an unpublished short story of mine and working on a script for it to see how that turns out.

I’m taking the shotgun appoach: read a few scripts, focusing on their style and format and trying to use those to come up with mine.

Should be lots of fun. It’s a challenge too, because if it works, who knows where it could go…these days it’s a very rare occasion that I see a suspense movie that I really like. In the past few years, I’ve liked Dead Silence, Hard Candy, the remake of When A Stranger Calls, 1408 and the Australian thriller Wolf Creek.

Leave a Reply

