Unable to locate my favorite Papermate pen

For the record, it’s a Papermate Silkwriter BP. Not the current silkwriter (which has a 1.6 mm tip and tends to leak gunky ink), but the older model with the see-through barrel, the metal clasp and ribbed rubber grip.

When I enquired about this pen to Sanford (Papermate’s parent company), I was told they no longer make it.

I love Papermate pens, but why is it they no longer make the great pens while making the el cheapos that do a lousy job of writing?

I keep checking out various stores in hopes I’ll see some being sold. At the Shop Rite in Vassar, Michigan two years ago, they had some for sale. I’ve also seen some on the internet, and I’ll see about picking some up when I have extra cash.

Leave a Reply

