A quick compliment goes a long way

My fiction writing career–which I suppose I can technically call a “career” since I do have one published short story to my credit–is something I’d really love to get off the ground. At present, I have several stories in the marketing stage. These are finished stories I’m now trying to sell. A few others are in the editing stage while others are in production, pre-production and even pre-pre-production.

Recently, I contemplated posting a few titles and what the stories were about. After deliberation, I chose not to since at times I tend to be paranoid of having ideas stolen. Like all writers, I probably have a personal bias: some stories of mine are really good, and I don’t want to give away too much for fear of being ripped off.

I sent the list, though, to a trusted friend recently who acts and makes movies in his spare time. I was curious to see what he’d think.

He told me: “I am not blowing smoke your way when I say that I am literally fascinated with every one of these story ideas, my friend.”

It’s the kind of encouragement, you might say, that really motivates a writer to get back to their keyboard and keep working towards that glorious publication day.

Richard Zowie tries to stay busy in his writing life and believes it’s far better to be busy than unemployed. Post comments here or e-mail him at richardzowie@gmail.com.

One comment on “A quick compliment goes a long way

  1. I’m sure you know this, but if you are looking for feedback you can post a story on a writing site that’s private for workshops. Potential publishers do not consider a work published if it’s has been workshopped on a site where your post hasn’t been open to the public.

    I’ve tried several sites. One of the more mature group of writers I’ve found online is the site zoetrope.com. It’s private and there is a short story section.

    Serious writers do not steal others’ material. Also, no one can mimic your unique writing voice. And once you’ve posted something online, on a private site, then you have a time stamp of your original work to protect any possible copyright claim.

Leave a Reply

