Reading classical literature

Someday, I would love to return to college and add to an English degree to my history degree. Lord willing, I would even love to get a master’s degree. It sounds very pleasurable: find an area of literature that really fascinates me and specialize in that and go into it in-depth.

Starting on that path, I think it’s time I broke open English and American Literature anthologies I’ve accumulated and read them. Take notes. Get a heads-up should the day ever come that I return to college.

I have thought about this lately as I have decided to take somewhat a break from reading modern fiction. This year I’ve read several novels the latest was an attempt to read Stephen King’s The Dark Half. Yes, normally, I like reading King, but I found the villain in this novel a little too holier-than-thou and found it difficult to imagine him really making his way past hardened law enforcement officers as if they were police academy washouts.

So, soon I shall start reading selected readings from American literature until I can find my English lit anthology. Eventually, I will probably even read translated classics in other languages, such as Russian.

Richard Zowie tries to stay busy in his writing life and believes it’s far better to be busy than unemployed. Post comments here or e-mail him at richardzowie@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

