The latest on the writing ‘career’ of Richard Zowie

If the headline seems self-loathing, it’s actually more self-deprecating. As I have learned the past few months, there really is a difference between healthy jokes at one’s own expense and having no self-respect.

…I need to get off my lazy rear and keep up on my fiction writing. I circulated a few chapters of one novel to select friends and the feedback so far has been really good. Once I finish the novel, I am a little reluctant about submitting it for publication: I usually prefer to write thrillers and Twilight Zone-style suspense and science fiction, and I worry that this love story might type cast me. Well, perhaps that’s just a chance to be taken…

…Some may wonder about my obsession of pens, and while there’s a lot to be written about it, I can tell you this: for me, creative energy often depends on a specific style of pen in a specific color. Try writing with the same pen all the time, or with black ink only, and creativity is stifled. Strange? Yes, but writers are a different breed…

…I have learned the secret to getting more writing done: close down internet applications and get off of Facebook. I love listening to music, but when it’s from Youtube it slows the process down…

…I’m trying out Twitter and find it mildly fascinating as I tweet and read other tweets. I can see that Van Halen drummer Alex Van Halen briefly tried Twitter a few years ago; his famous kid brother Eddie seems to tweet regularly. Am still trying to convince myself it’s not just frivolous time.

Richard Zowie is a writer. Post comments here or e-mail him at richardzowie@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

