What I’ve been doing

Still reading an unnamed autobiography for research into a novel I’m writing. Those whom I trust with my top-secret writing ventures know what I’m talking about. Have learned a lot so far. I must say, while I was ambivalent towards this person when I first began reading about them, I’ve grown to see them as a far more complicated person than what many might realize…

…As far as fiction goes, I have bitten off more than I can chew and have checked out two books from the library: Willa Cather’s O Pioneers! and Lauren Weisberger’s The Devil Wears Prada. This is very common for me as sometimes I’ll see several books that will interest me. I think the only time I will ever succeed in reading every book in one setting of the armful I collect is if I’m going on a vacation somewhere where there is no internet access but unlimited time for reading. Am currently reading Cather’s book. Very fascinating so far, but as is often the case with classic literature, the story grows stale in your mind if you’re not reading on a frequent basis…

…Lately I’ve felt very sluggish mentally and am trying to decide what happens next in my novel(s) and stories. And try to market what I’ve already written. One friend recently read my suspenseful short story No Experience Necessary and told me she liked it a lot and didn’t expect the twist at the end.

Richard Zowie is a writer. Post comments here or e-mail them to richardzowie@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

