What are YOUR day jobs, fellow writers?

For 11 years I have been a professional writer. I have one published short story to my credit along with countless news and feature stories and columns. Lots of sports, also. Once I even ghostwrote a column for a brigadier general. And then there are the finished-but-unpublished short stories sleeping on my hard drive, along with two novels I’m working on.

Last, but not least, my blogs.

My dream is to be a full-time fiction writer.

Like many writers out there, I can’t support myself and my kids on what I earn as a writer. So, I have day jobs.

Thirty hours a week I work at a weekly newspaper. Sometimes it feels more like 40, but I love this job immensely. Getting paid to write–how great is that?

Twenty-four hours a week (although, this week it will be 32), I work at a gas station. It also feels like I put more hours there, but whatever my unsaid opinion might be, I really can’t complain: this job pays my electric bill, auto insurance bill, internet bill, cell phone bill, and many other things.

Those are my two day jobs, and I’ve had others: (briefly) a factory worker, a bagel maker, a broadcaster, a telemarketer and a cashier.

I remember one novelist, who worked as a waitress, was asked what motivated her to write: “Because I absolutely hated my day job,” she replied.

So, fellow writers, what are YOUR day jobs?

Richard Zowie has been writing professionally since 2000. Post comments here or e-mail him at richardzowie@gmail.com.

One comment on “What are YOUR day jobs, fellow writers?

  1. I love this post because it lets me know (unfortunately for you) that I’m not the only writer in the world who hasn’t “made it”. During the day I calibrate electronic testing equipment in a laboratory. Fortunately for me though, a lot of the programs I run are automated and require little attention from me. This is good because it gives me a LOT of time to write. I recently started my blog about 6 weeks ago and write satire on society. I’d like to write news articles as a day job, but the dream is full time fiction. Anyway…enough about me, this is your blog; what I’ve read so far I have thoroughly enjoyed and will continue to read as I get the time. Don’t bother checking my blog out, though people find it funny, it’s more vulgar than anything.

Leave a Reply

