Thoughts on acting and creating a new word

We did eight performances at the Clio Cast & Crew of A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Forum, a musical that in second reference we all like to refer to as The Forum. For two months we rehearsed, sang, practiced, studied lines, blocked, laughed, had costume fittings, chatted and did everything imaginable. It was a wondrous time for me as I got to meet new friends, such as Carmen, Juliet, Brenda and Ed and hang out at the theater. My sons also got a chance to see what their Dad likes to do as a hobby and what he plans to continue doing as a hobby.

In the play, I was Protean #2, which means that I and Carl and Seth were the 200 B.C. equivalent of the Three Stooges with the Keystone Kops thrown in for good measure. Our job was to entertain and pretend to be slaves, citizens, eunuchs, sailors, soldiers and do our best to ham things up when possible. For me, it was a very fun occasion, and having makeup on during the play wasn’t as horrible as I thought it would be. I explained to my sons that under the bright lights, when you don’t wear makeup, your face gets washed out. Interestingly, I learned that having a big nose meant not having to wear as much makeup.

Four things I learned as an actor: 1) Show up on time, 2) Know your lines, 3) Do what your director tells you and 4) No matter how good you become, don’t let success go to your head.

This play has also inspired me to create a seldom-used word: theaterography, which I’ve put as a page on my blog so folks can know what else I’ve done in theater.

Richard is a writer and, now, an actor. Someday he wants to get into dramatic roles, such as 12 Angry Men. Post comments here or e-mail them to richardzowie@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

